Why Facebook SUCKS

I’m not just venting against the mass-hysteria-for-the-new-cool that is Facebook. No, now there are actual reasons to despise it.

A poll by Macmillan Cancer Support found that the average young adult has 237 Facebook friends, but only two they could turn to for real support.

Kindly read the following as you play You’ve Got a Friend In Me in your mind.

The survey of 1,000 people aged 18 to 35 found that two-thirds of respondents said they had two or fewer really close friends. It also found that one in eight (13%) admitted they did not have even a single person they considered to be a good enough friend to rely on if life got very hard. Men (16%) were more likely than women (12%) to have no one to turn to.

SEEE, I was right all along! In your face to the skeptics who doubted us skeptics.

Now for my rant worded perfectly by Nerimon instead.

4 responses to “Why Facebook SUCKS

    • I’ll definitely cheer you on if you ever decide to delete it. I am waiting for my life to straighten out a bit before I terminate mine (or I’m just procrastinating). A cousin of mine deleted her Facebook and Twitter and I couldn’t be more proud of her.

  1. I opened an account up because I would occasionally use my wife’s page to post nonsense (which I can now do on my blog as an outlet) when she wasn’t looking. I decided to use it as a repository for favorite links, mainly to music. The problem was that all these people ‘friended’ me, and it seemed rude not to accept. Before I knew it the damn thing was filled up with a bunch of inane crap that I just didn’t care or want to know about regarding their daily lives. I don’t care you took your dog for a walk, or just visited a fairground and had a nice ice-cream, or you like Sundays. So, yeah, I’m with you. I look on it as a disease. Maybe blogging is a disease too, but at least it’s a somewhat creative one.

    • Hello Moose (you don’t quite look ugly to me). You’re so right. Most of the people are a too reluctant to post substantial stuff on their page anyway so you end up with a mountain of fluff. It is often stuff that you wouldn’t even bother to tell your friend on the phone because it is so trivial. I hope this global facebook phase is more out of vanity than a more grave reason: loneliness.

Leave a Reply

