Andy Rooney

What can I really say about good ol’ Andy. He was The presenter. Hard to imagine any single more lovable recurring media personality than him. He spoke for everyone. Well, at least those of us with a noggin; there are actually people who consider him a crank, who I believe must also use 4 instead of for.

What would 60 Minutes be if so many things didn’t bother him? More than 20% less popular, that’s what! He was the reason why I often ever tuned in to the show (in the days before youtube). Good thing that even until the age of 92, ‘retirement’ was not a word in his vocabulary.

In his last piece that aired only a month ago on October 2, his closing lines were, “I’ve done a lot of complaining here, but of all the things I’ve complained about, I can’t complain about my life.” How many can say that. He will not be forgotten.

He’s talked on everything. Christmas, human desire, new music,  impending doom, national debt, gambling, the funny 5 Worst Inventions, answering his critics, and more; he did have 33 years with CBS to get this upset. Of course, there are somethings even I don’t agree with, but one in a hundred is forgivable.

On fashion magazines…

This 17 minutes long — not quite short but definitely fun — interview covers beautifully what Andy is all about. Hope you watch (and do comment what you think of ol’ Andy).

2 responses to “Andy Rooney

  1. Thank you for your post on Andy Rooney. I didn’t see the interview by Morely Safer when it first was aired, so I really appreciate that you included it for us. This is the first time I’ve visited your blog, and I was very impressed with your story today of what happened at the ATM machine and what you said about money. Lots of us agree with you 100%- keep sharing your personal feelings with us.

    • Thank you for the kind words. Glad you liked the video. I try to refrain from words because I’m a bit too self-conscious and therefore slow with my writing, and instead music is (currently) a more fun passion of mine. But I’m so happy you could connect with my little experience 🙂

Leave a Reply

